“The Eleanor Roosevelt Challenge”- Day 8 (Riding Solo)

I am a confident girl. The kind who can happily stand up and give a speech to a room full of people, the kind who is at ease talking to strangers and the kind of person who doesn’t really care what the average man on the street thinks.

Socially though, I am seemingly confident. I am, afterall, primarily a twenty two year old girl: far too aware of my limitations and conscious of my appearance.

So, for me, walking into a bar alone is terrifying. I mean, my girls were turning up an hour or so later but I went early- just to see if I could hack it.

Scary as hell. I put my phone into my handbag- out of sight, out of mind- my usual comfort when alone, bored and feeling awkward. Not today.

I waltzed over to the bar, feigning confidence and ordered a drink. Terrifying. Yet oddly liberating. Men approached me, as now- alone, I was approachable. I was my own woman. It was…(surprisingly) FUN.

image

I’m not in a hurry to trade my nights out with the girls for drinks on my bill…but it isn’t as scary as I thought. A couple of drinks down the line you will chat to anyone, men approach you and people are up for a laugh. One hour or weird solitude, oddly enough bought me a handful of new friends who I would never have otherwise met…

Leave a Reply

