Yes, I’m single. Yes, I’m happy.

It struck me as I lay in bed watching an old episode of “Don’t Tell the Bride” on my strategically placed iPad. I was smothered in a thick layer of fake tan and had a nice splodge of toothpaste on my chin concealing a spot that had taken up a near-permanent home on my face. Having munched my way (very unattractively) through a tube of Pringles, it became apparent to me as to why I was single. Did I want to change any of this routine though? DAMN NO.

I’m 22 (nearer 23, infact) and have nothing resembling a normal, healthy relationship. Yet every day it seems I’m hearing about a new friend getting engaged, marrying or falling pregnant. I still seem to be in this awkward transition phase that most people leave when they’re 16. Newly graduated, looking for a job and uncertain of where I will be or what I will be doing in six months – never mind a year! The least of my worries is settling down with a man.

image

Yet every man and his dog takes an interest in my love life (or lack of)- my parents, family friends, my friends- all asking me if I’ve met anyone, who it am seeing etc etc. NOBODY….and you know what? I like it just like that.

The thing is, nobody accepts that singledom is a choice. This isn’t circumstantial, there isn’t anything wrong with me, I just want to be single. I want to be answerable to myself and myself alone. I want to be able to travel, go out when I want and see who I like.

I’m not saying I want to be a spinster for life, that I want to be alone forever and that I don’t want to ever settle down. That will all come, I have no doubt. For now? I’m enjoying being me- I’m working on my career, seizing opportunities that come my way and I’m relishing in friendships and all the relationships I have around me.

So yes, I’m single…and I am happy.

Leave a Reply

